Skip to main content
New Models of Collaboration

Main Menu Links


CEFRIO's "New Models of Collaboration for Public Service Delivery" research project is still in the early stages, but the research team has already conducted a preliminary review focusing on the status of knowledge regarding alternative public service delivery methods.

This working document summarises the findings of this first step. It should be viewed as a starting point rather than a conclusion. This document is therefore designed to be a draft which will be detailed and completed over the coming months. This document is a first draft that will be edited and completed during the coming months.

This report contains four sections. The first section is divided into two parts: a brief history that provides a better understanding of the contextual factors that have influenced government policies in terms of public service delivery; and a inventory of the trends in terms of solutions adopted by governments. The second section of the report defines collaboration within the context of public service delivery and delineates the boundaries of this interorganizational collaboration. The third section introduces a conceptual model for the study of new models of collaboration and briefly describes the success factors identified in the literature. The report concludes with an overview of the situation in Australia, the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada and a few developing countries and newly industrialised economies.

The main research team was composed of Professors Line Ricard, Hélène Sicotte and Lise Préfontaine as well as Research Professional Danielle Turcotte. Other members of the PIVOT Research Team participated in the research endeavour: Professors Mario Bourgault (École Polytechnique), Yves-Chantal Gagnon (ÉNAP) and Elizabeth Posada (UQAM), joined by Professors Andrée De Serres (UQAM), Luc Bernier (ÉNAP) and several students from the aforementioned universities. The segment on the United States was written by Center for Technology in Government Director Sharon S. Dawes.