Skip to main content
2006 Annual Report

Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition

Awards Graphic
Since 1993, CTG has earned recognition from state and national organizations for both our organizational accomplishments and the individual expertise and service of our staff. We have received honors ranging from the prestigious Ford Foundation’s Innovations in American Government award to Governing magazine’s Public Official of the Year award. Each award and honor has special meaning to our organization, and we thank those who have extended this recognition.

In 2006, we received the following awards:

Best of New York Award
Members of New York IT Workforce Skills Survey, State CIO Council: Human Resource Committee are pictured above: (L to R back) Kathy Ravida (OFT), David Gardam (OASAS), Sharon Dawes (CTG), Ron Minafri (DOI); (L to R front) Elaine Ehlinger (OFT), Natalie Helbig (CTG), Melinda Hicks (GOER), Marilyn Cordell (OFT); (Not shown) Frank Slade (CS), Jay Canetto (OSC), Terri Daly (OFT), Celia Hamblin (DOL)
The Center for Digital Government and Government Technology annually honor New York’s most innovative, tech-savvy state and local government leaders and agencies with their prestigious Best of New York award, which recognizes excellence and outstanding contributions in the area of information technology. CTG was a key partner with the State CIO Council and Human Resource Committee in the New York IT Workforce Skills Survey that won in the category Demonstrating Best IT Collaboration Among Organizations.

The New York State Forum’s Best of the Web award annually recognizes the outstanding work done with the innovative use of Web technology by New York state and local governments. CTG’s online XML Toolkit site was honored for its innovative use of technology, value to clients, and cost efficiency to government agencies. The toolkit is designed to help agencies implement XML-based Web site management, which offers great savings and efficiencies in streamlined workflow, consistency of content, and accuracy of information.

The New York State Forum’s Best Practices award acknowledges the work done each year by New York state and local government organizations in the area of Information Resource Management. The NYS/PEF Professional Development Committee’s project Successful Web Communications in NYS Government was honored this year for the development and implementation of a statewide training program. CTG is a member of this committee, which is sponsored by the New York State Governor’s Office of Employee Relations.

The Charles Evans Hughes Award is one of the most prestigious awards presented by the Empire State Capital Area Chapter (ESCAC) of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA), the nation’s most respected society representing public service. This year, the award was presented to CTG director Sharon Dawes in recognition of outstanding individual service that has exemplified long-standing superior management and administration within New York State.

The Digital Government Society of North America was formed in 2006 to serve the interests of a community of scholars and managers interested in the development and impacts of digital government. It is built on a foundation made possible by the US National Science Foundation Digital Government Research Program, which sponsors research and community building at the intersections of computer and information science, social and behavioral sciences, and the needs and problems of government.

The Society welcomes members from all sectors, endorses diverse, multi-, and interdisciplinary research undertakings relevant to both theory and practice, and strongly encourages practitioner-researcher exchanges at local, regional, national, and international levels. Members elected Sharon Dawes, director of CTG, as the Society’s first president.

< Previous |   |  Next >